top of page

Furniture Design and Construction

Updated: May 12, 2023

Location: New Delhi, India

Duration: 3 Weeks

​Date: May 2022

Type: Furniture Design



DESIGN CONCEPT

The furniture piece emphasises on the improved or greater human connection with the movable backrest design, which allows the user to sit according to their preference. The design not only focuses on the context but also provides great comfort which was achieved by a thorough study of ergonomics and anthropometry. The bench is made from three different types of repurposed natural wood, stained with the shade of rosewood which adds elegance to the design while still keeping the natural beauty alive. The backrests that pivot on bamboo, have a thistle-coloured silk rope weave which ties the whole bench together and creates a timeless look.


Project by:

Bulbul Khurana, Nitika Jain, Siddhant Garg, Vishal Chaudhary


MY ROLE

I was involved in every step of the design process. Along with my team members, I worked on the bench's design language, measuring, cutting, sanding, polishing, assembly, and photo shoot.






WHAT DID I LEARN?

From deciding on the type of furniture to design to creating a working two-way bench, four of us embarked on an exciting endeavor. This project taught me:

  • Team Work: working and operating in a team with strong viewpoints.

  • How-To use Tools: most importantly, where to use each one.

  • Out-Sourcing: For the first time, I also worked with a craftsperson (the weaving guy) and realized what our seniors meant when they said, "It's not an easy task, out-sourcing."

Finally, I would say that I finished my third year with a bang!



FINAL OUTCOME


 

121 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page