top of page

NVR Experience

Updated: May 12, 2023

Location: New Delhi, India

Duration: 6 Weeks

​Date: October 2022

Type: Heritage



CONCEPT

The NVR Experience trains middle school students in Non-Visual Reasoning, helping them improve verbal problem-solving skills. The program uses real-world tasks as an alternate use of the heritage monuments in India, to engage both sides of the brain and develops skills neglected in traditional academics.

I was given Honorary Mention in The Park Elle Decor Student Design Contest 2023 for the NVR Experience!



HOW & WHY

For me, the project started when I conducted an extensive user study using interviews. After analysing the data, I discovered that students and families want to learn more about the monuments than just visit them. So I decided to educate school students by leading them on an experiential tour of the monument.




I recall that my school, like many others, placed a strong emphasis on the traditional way of teaching i.e. reading, learning, and writing. While overlooking reasoning and aptitude, which are important aspects of education.



MY EXPERIENCE

The task of collecting data and designing a program was tedious but I was eager to put the program to the test. I took a friend (not from a design background) to Sunder Nursery and asked her to navigate through the space with the help of my audio recording. I learned that navigation using Degrees was confusing, so I used clock directions instead, which she recognized immediately.


We spent 2-3 hours in the nursery, battling the heavy rain and stormy weather. I managed to get the audio and was ready to test it with another user.




FINAL OUTCOME



AWARDS & HONORS

As an Interior Architect, nothing brings me more joy than capturing the minds and hearts of my audience by giving them more than an experience of a space.


Winning this award is an incredible honour, and I am grateful for the opportunity. Thanks to The Park Hotel and Elle Decor India for this recognition, and to everyone who encouraged me to come this far. I can't wait to see where this journey takes me next!




FEATURES & MENTIONS


THE HINDU


ELLE DECOR INDIA



66 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page