top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

CAPSTONE: Phase - 3: IDEATE

Updated: Jun 1, 2021

My perception has changed a lot in 5 days about Reflection. There many things that I uncovered and discovered. The way light reflects on the walls and the windows give me a spark to make something out of it. Play with light and reflection, There was this question that Josh sir sent me:


"WHAT IF LIGHT DOES NOT REFLECT?"

This question is one of the biggest questions throughout my research that I want to explore further. I have the answer to it, but this question is so powerful that it evokes a sense of magic within me. I still find it mysterious and I'm looking for the recipe for this magical potion.


Selecting the Threads

Selection

I wrote down the words that came into my mind from the words "reflection, light, a reflection of light."

I took a long break after this. This new beginning, brought in new ideas and words, thus expanding the election process.


 


Initial Threads



Final Threads

These were the final four threads that I selected.


 

EXPANDING THE THREADS

PARTICLES

Particles are the surfaces on which reflection happens. Without these particles, there will be no visible reflection.



Some applied explorations are close to becoming a potential project outcome. The reflection through the window lightens up the room.


KEY REALIZATION AND INSIGHTS

  • Initially, I was more focused on the scientific aspect. Josh sir suggested I step up and take a break from physics. So I worked on the emotional aspect.

  • The density plays an important role in the amount of reflection taking place.

  • The air around us reflects light that is how we can see colours. Reflection also leads to the scattering of light. This helps us distinguish between colours.

  • 3D and 2D explorations on dots and lines representing reflection.

 

PROJECTION

When the light is seen on another surface after reflection. This thread started with a few ideas and kept on expanding.



  • There are some images made with shadow and lenses but seen as reflections.

  • Some of the 3D explorations are with clear tape and polished surfaces.

  • I found this CD projection to be a potential idea for my outcome. Since the reflections formed have multiple colours and have a band.

  • Tanya ma'am sent me a picture from a story and I tried a similar thing to that. I made a hologram.

  • Also, aluminium foil abstractly reflects light. I like the idea of making an installation with this.


KEY REALIZATION AND INSIGHTS

  • Aluminium foil gives a water-like reflection n it can be controlled.

  • My initial attempts were not completely based on reflection, so I discussed them with Sanya Jain. Her subject of study is "shadows".

  • My illustrations with Adobe illustrator are clearer than my sketches.

  • I jump from one idea to another. This leads to numerous ideas to choose from. Which is both good and bad as it becomes difficult to choose from so many ideas.

 

EXPRESSION

During the initial days of my phase, 3 Josh sir pointed out that my ideas are very scientific and less abstract. So I took one of my threads to be a reflection of my emotions.



  • I emphasized more on human reflection here. The emotional and physical reflection.

  • These are my emotional reflections. I can connect to them.

  • The medicines have a reflective surface that gives a sense of hope even though they are negative emotions. This hope in negative emotion can be incorporated into my final design opportunity.


KEY REALIZATION AND INSIGHTS

  • This thread really helped me come out of the creative block that I had. As not thinking in the factual direction was very important for me at his stage.

  • I went out of topic with some of the ideas in this as my subject is "Reflection of LIGHT" and not emotions but later I was able to connect it with light as well.

 

RIGHT-LEFT/MIRRORING

Mirroring is when the object is replicated but flipped. The final result is in symmetry. I have explored many household items in this thread.



  • The idea of kaleidoscope generated so many ideas in my head.

  • Increasing and decreasing the angle between the mirrors created different no. of images.

  • I made the 3D version of the kaleidoscope grid using paper and the half-cut technique. This paper is a mesh that could increase or decrease reflection. Thus again a new opportunity.


KEY REALIZATION AND INSIGHTS

  • Exploring Symmetry gave me the idea of making an installation.

  • Symmetry can also be abstract.

 

ANALYSIS



 

RE-DEFINED BRIEF



 

IDD - 2


Hologram story

The story I thought of was of a windowpane set-up. Abd light play would be seen in the animation.


MERITS

3D representation of the reflection.

Easy to handle.


DEMERITS

Not related to my discipline (IAD).

It will take time to learn the software for editing.

It is not user interactive.


Aluminium Abstraction

To capture the Abstract nature of the reflection and how it eliminates the space to show its importance.


MERITS

Real-time experience.

Fits into my discipline.


DEMERITS

Difficult to set the right angles for the reflection

It is not user interactive.


CD Arrangement

I was happy with the idea of making a form out of CDs. So I explored them further.


MERITS

Colourful reflection

Real-time experience.

Fits into my discipline.

User interactive


DEMERITS

Difficult to set the right angles for the reflection



 


GLIMPSES OF IDEATION



 

PROCESS MAP


 

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page