top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

LEARNER'S JOURNEY-Fundamentals of Visual Language-1

Updated: Dec 1, 2020

THE CRAZY project lead by Josh sir and Kishore sir has come to an end. It was all about how crazy you can go, no rules, nothing just a brush and some ink. A glimpse of my journey through this project is what I'm going to show you in this blog.


BEST WORK

  • The first page has the tonal variation with a compressed charcoal stick, ink, and micron tip pens.

  • The second page is me going crazy with ink and brush ( irregular shapes).

  • On the third page, I've used circular and triangular dots to create a cube

  • I personally find the fourth page best of all. It has different textures with ink( impressions and brush strokes) and charcoal.

  • The last one is of the lines with square dots.


THEMATIC REPRESENTATION

This is the rain of soft snow made with a 4B pencil. I made this with big and small circular dots. This spacious arrangement gives it a floaty look and sense of calmness. This drizzling makes me want to touch the soft snow on my palm.




DAILY DRAWING DOCUMENT


My least effective drawing was the first drawing I did in my logbook. Kishore sir told us to be rapid. So I tried that, and then I laughed at my sketch, it looked like a preschooler drew it.


I think this is my most effective drawing so far. This page itself displays how much I had tried to get to the final result.


ILLUSTRATED GLOSSARY


  • Tonal variation: The amount of light falling on a surface from an angle.

  • DK: Dil Khush




  • Hungry/ Dil Maange More: When the faculty is expecting more of the same kind of work.





  • Go Crazy: Become a child.

  • Eclairs: On the right track.







  • Line bank: a reservoir of freehand lines.






THE NEW WAY OF LEARNING

I have started to interact more than ever. Being forced to participate in the discussions has given me a push to speak up. Learning by doing is the best way to get something inside one's head. In school, we barely put hands-on chemicals and ammeters but here, we hardly listen. We only get briefs and from there onwards we are the ones responsible for everything. This doing own your own thing is challenging but in a healthy way.


LEARNINGS FROM THIS PROJECT

At first, I thought it'll be a boring one because we started by drawing a line bank. And next, we converted lines into dots. I was disappointed on the first day. But then I got the crux of it the next day, going crazy was the motto of this project. This project has helped me realize that bringing out the child inside gets better results than being able to draw ideally. It'll help me experiment in every upcoming project because now I'm ready to do the wrong thing to get on the right track.


 

FEEDBACK



29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


prachi.mittal
Nov 25, 2020

Nitika.... While we enjoy the fun terms you may pick in this journey, for the Illustrated glossary, we are looking for the new design terminology you have learnt.

So add those too...

Like
bottom of page