top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

LEARNER'S JOURNEY-Isometric Type

Updated: Nov 27, 2020

The isometric type was a completely new concept to me. I had never heard of it before this project. But after this project, I realized that there is a connection between this and the older projects.


CONNECTING DOTS


Think Lab day-1 was the first one I could connect this project with. We tried to find 2D alphabets in everyday life. Recreating them using geometry and cutting them out of paper.


FVL-1 introduces me to visualizing 3D forms on a sheet of paper by manipulating and bending dots.



Mundane to Magnificent taught me the measurements and angles required for making the perfect cube. Also, the paper that had to be used for this project. I used the gateway sheet because I knew its properties.


In Form to Formation, we did subtraction, addition, and extrusion of a cube/cuboid to create a new form. In this project, I extruded, added, and subtracted from cube/cuboids to get the desired alphabets.



BEST WORKSHEET




ERRORS


It was my attempt for the intermediate level. I failed to create the letter 'X' with the pieces that I cut out. I wanted to make a magnified version of X.


In this one, the ends of the letter are not equal in length. I left one block before.


The lines overlapped. To cover this I had to draw patterns and color them.



REFLECTION


I thought that in this project, our tutors would ask us to make patterns, so to get the idea of the isometric grid, I drew some random lines. On the first day, they made us draw alphabets which, reminded me of the time when I first wrote a three-letter word CAT (I don't remember anything else about my pre-primary). While visualizing the letter, they would suddenly disappear and, some others would popup. Somebody said it was like an illusion, this I totally agree with. Initially, I could only see shapes and cubes, but after having looked at the grid for 10-15 minutes, I was able to get the desired form. It taught me patience and heightened my sensitivity to look for the form in a traffic area. Practicing and concentrating without any distractions helped me overcome this illusion of the grid. I kept my phone on silent and play meditation music for better focus. On the last day, when we had to give the final composition, I was so frustrated. Then I told myself, "It's there, you just need to find it."


41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


prachi.mittal
25 de nov. de 2020

Nitika, I am happy to see that most of your Learner's Log is up-to-date Good Job!


Moving forward, you need to add more reflective notes about your work. Currently you are mostly reporting "what you did?" and are writing about things that are obvious. The idea is to dive a bit deeper into our experience and extract some realisations that can deepen our understanding of the topic. Whenever you are making a point, try to establish a cause and effect relationship - what must have caused this? What will happen as a result of this?

Answering these trigger questions will help you in writing the LJL more reflectively - Why you did what you did? What happened? Why did it…


Curtir
bottom of page