top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

LEARNER'S JOURNEY- Mundane to Magnificent

Updated: Dec 1, 2020

Mundane to Magnificent was a hands-on project where we learned to use cut

ting tools, adhesives, and different types of papers.


PAPER AS A MATERIAL

Some of us read a newspaper every day, and we know how thin and delicate it is. Can you imagine making a strong bridge using glue and newspaper?

It seems difficult but it is not impossible. I couldn't think of any ideas either, I made 3-4 attempts by adding glue and water but failed. Then I saw my little brother rolling paper into tubes. And it struck me, and I made long tubes of newspaper and constructed a bridge. This was possible because those tubes were firm enough to hold an A4 size journal over them.


SAFE PRACTICES


  • Do not hold the paper from the edge while cutting so that your finger doesn't get cut.

  • Use a cutting mat or a glass sheet while cutting.

  • Do not open the full blade while cutting, a small portion of it will do.

  • Wear gloves while using liquid adhesives like fevi-bond and fevi-quick or it might stick your fingers together.

  • Use incense sticks for controlled burning.

  • Avoid burning directly from the flame.

  • Keep a first aid box ready.




ILLUSTRATED GLOSSARY


  • Half-cut: folding a cut from one side.



  • jalli: cuts made on a surface to create a shadowy pattern.



  • carving: scraping out layers to create a design. mostly only wood.


  • paper pulp: raw material used for making a structure.

  • paper mache: paper pulp mixed with glue.

  • grip: way of holding an object.

LEARNING METHOD

Learning by doing is the best method for me because this way I remember my mistakes as I'm the one who did it and not verbally told to me. Like in school teachers used to tell us "Ok don't do this, connecting this wire in that socket will lead to a short circuit". But here I do literally "everything" on my own which makes it a personal experience. Challenges are everywhere in this learning method but I think these challenges are the only reason that we come out of that dependency bubble. The only issue right now is of the wi fi.


ENGAGEMENT IN THIS PROJECT

Honestly, for me, this project was more engaging than EoC because working with materials is something I prefer over painting and drawing. Even my younger brother contributed to the final cube project, he helped me in making those 500 paper balls. I wanted to improve my material handling skills because my mom always tells me that my projects lack finishing (my mom also likes crafty stuff) and with this project, I was able to at least try and make something on my own which seems like progress to me.


LEARNINGS

Handing different tools; use of adhesives and where a particular adhesive will and where it will not, and got to know about different types of papers. we even researched paper history and found out fun facts like linen and hemp are best for paper making but now cheap cellulose is used. Teabags are made of filter paper, and many more. 80% of my work in the future will require paper, cutting, and pasting so no doubt this will help me in my life whether I continue this field or not (obviously I'm not going anywhere).


 

FEEDBACK



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page