top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

Lights, Camera & Publish!

Updated: Mar 26, 2021

Day - 5 December 2020, Saturday


EMBRACE THE SHAKE

PHIL HANSEN

Disabilities make a person mentally sick, because not being able to do everyday work as easily as others can make one anxious. Phil Hansen tells how he "embraced his shake". Being an art enthusiast, he desired to draw, but his hands won't allow him to. After consulting a doctor, he created his way to art. The way he tried different sizes of the paintings tells us how we should find solutions to small problems. He said his brain was paralyzed when he got what he wanted. Getting too many choices is the biggest stop o creativity he explains. We all are so much busy thinking outside the box that we forget to look into it. Phil Hansen realized these small things and explained them very smoothly. Challenging oneself with limited supplies, destroying it instead of keeping the final result. He said a really good thing about "goodbye art". We make art to keep the final result, but this guy destroyed his art and knowing that it'll be destroyed he got a clean ticket. "Ultimate limitation turned out to be the ultimate liberation."

 

Intricate beauty by Design

Marian Bantjes


Marian Bantjes in her TED talk very remarkably accentuates how throwing and casting her originality and distinctiveness into her projects has always worked for her.

Quoting her “ The more I deal with the work as something that is my own, as something that is personal, the more successful it is.

Every thought she shared is exactly what I have found to be accurate for myself. I have found that when I am veracious and faithful to myself, I get a response.When someone asks me to help or assist them in a project, I am always eager to put my entire self into it. Those are the most fulfilling & rewarding projects. That is the work I have always preferred to indulge in. Those are the things that get me out of bed every day. Those are the things that keep me working late by myself on a Friday night, rather than hanging out with friends.


In a nutshell, I want to make work that makes me feel alive, and was truly intrigued and inspired by the way she approaches her work

 

First Position

Ballet is something that I consider difficult but elegant. Standing on toes is challenging, and these people dance on toes. The 6 dancers worked their lives out for the scholarship. Starting from an early age, these dancers sacrifice comfort food and other things that kids their age do. This level of dedication pays off with the scholarship at the end. Embracing failures and not giving up made them strong. This movie motivated me to put in the effort and focus on the goal. Showing 6 different stories of the participants in a manner that shows their growth, makes the movie flow smooth.

 

A Visual History of Human Knowledge

Manuel Lima

Manuel Lima in his TED Talk explores and highlights the thousand-year history of mapping data — from languages to dynasties — using trees of information. It’s a fascinating & captivating history of visualizations and sequence of images and a look into humanity’s urge to map what we know

The branching scheme of the tree was, in fact, such a powerful metaphor for conveying information that it became, over time, an important communication tool to map a variety of systems of knowledge. We can see trees being used to map morality, with the popular tree of virtues and tree of vices, … with these beautiful illustrations. And trees ultimately became such a powerful visual metaphor because, in many ways, they really embody this human desire for order, for balance, for unity, for symmetry.


After watching this TED talk I believe we can really understand how human knowledge is much more intricate and interdependent, just like a network.


 



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page