top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

ACTIVITY 2: SCALE & CONTEXT

Unstaple Your Imagination


Date- 28 August 2020, Friday


WARM-UP ACTIVITY


Today we started with the warm-up activity. We were divided into groups of 5 but had different teammates. Each group was given a stationery item to draw with differing angles/perspectives. Ours was a STAPLER and, I drew 10 sketches within the time limit. I was able to manage my time in this activity unlike in the previous one.

I observed that the stapler had teeth and it looked like a hippo.


 

INTRODUCTION


Pranay sir showed us this picture and asked what we thought it was. Everybody said that it was a 'traffic cone'.


Then he showed us a picture of 2 people sitting on an enormous cone. And then a picture of 2 cones with hooks which looked like earrings.

Hemanshi ma'am quoted that " setting changes concerning the size of the object " which leads us to the definition of 'scale' and 'context'.


SCALE: If you refer to the scale of something, you're referring to its size or extent.


CONTEXT: The circumstance that forms the setting for the statement, or idea and in terms of which it can be fully understood.


 

MAIN ACTIVITY


We continued with the same object but we had to use the object( stapler ) in different contexts and scales to imagine something that can be constructed with its physical form. These were the 2 things I imagined:

I thought of many things like slide, entrance, and sundial.


 

REFLECTION


ACHIEVEMENTS: Scaling objects can change their function and help in creating interesting designs.


STRUGGLES: The main problem I faced was that my drawings were not satisfying.

Also, I don't know how to draw in perspective.


ACTION: I should try practicing perspective drawings.


BEST WORK:







Tanvi Gupta, C2

She really came out with a great idea of imagining a highlighter into a trash can.








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page