top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

ACTIVITY 4: EXPRESSIVE TYPOGRAPHY

Express Through Letters


Date: 11 September 2020, Friday


INTRODUCTION


New day new activity. today we started with the definition of TYPOGRAPHY - "is the art and technique of arranging type (letter and text) in a way that is legible, readable and, appealing when displayed."


Moving on to the next definition i.e. EXPRESSIVE TYPOGRAPHY - "is an art to make text highly. Letters are not just carriers of meanings but now become real physical shapes."

An example of the same was given by arranging the word BALANCING in different manners and fonts.


'BALANCING' can be interpreted in a different arrangement of the letterform to communicate the eaning.


 

WARM-UP




We worked in groups and I was with Tanvi and Saumya. We were given 2 words DISTRACTION and TRAPPED. The task was to express the meaning of the words through the creative arrangement of letterforms. Changes in orientation, size, position, style, weight, width, space, grey values, etc.


I was quite satisfied with my work. As usual, we had a great time talking about college and friends.





 

MAIN ACTIVITY


This was an individual task where we were allowed to choose any line, quote, or song and create narrative typography that depicts the meaning of the same.

I was not satisfied with my first narrative but when Pranay sir gave feedback then I made changes and used Ai. The outcome then was pretty satisfying. I visualize the word Focus as BEING IN THE SPOTLIGHT. That was the reason I made the first one. but in the latter, it is clear that the word YOU is being highlighted. I think I can work more on the presentation.


 

Assessment criteria for the main activity


Experimentation: can do better

Variety: good

Freshness: it was my idea so yes it was fresh.

Use of media and materials: at first I only used a pencil but after getting the feedback I switched to Ai.

Quality of presentation: average


 

REFLECTION


ACHIEVEMENTS- Getting the feel of the word by writing it in a way that expresses its meaning.


STRUGGLE- Expressing my idea through sketches.


ACTION - Use the digital medium more.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page