top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

SCALE AND CONTEXT: Photoshop

Updated: Mar 28, 2021

Step 1 :

Pre-work


I decided to make a stadium out of a donut. My idea was to change its material to wood. In the background, I want high-rise buildings.


 


REJECTED MATERIAL



Here I have used a wooden surface for the exterior of my stadium. Lovelies sir told me to avoid using wood as stadiums are usual made of glass or metal.


 

Step 2 :

Preparing the Photograph


I took another angle of the donut to start over again.

This is the photograph I took for my stadium.


I selected the object using "SELECT SUBJECT" under quick selection because the object had a clear contrast from the background.


I was trying something by selecting the chocolate coating of the donut. Later I deleted this layer s it was of no use.


Here I used the tool called liquify and pushed-in the upper portion a bit to get it in shape.


With the clone stamp tool, I completed the donut. The idea of the bitten entrance didn't work out well in my mind.


 

Step 3 :

Mood/Feeling


Dreamy or Fantasy

It is a donut and I wanted to have a world where everything is made of food. I love the movie CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALL. It became my fantasy to live in such a world. So donut stadium is like creating my fantasy land.


 

Step 4 :

Manipulating the Form and Surface


A stadium has a grassy field which I selected from another picture of a stadium. The stands are also from the same source.


I added black solid color to add shadow to the stands. This is how created the above results. I realized, masking comes in very handy when I have to add or subtract something. If I would have deleted the whole part then couldn't have adjusted it the way I want.


I perpetually selected the floodlights from the above setting.


To see the positioning of the lights I had to has a contrasting background.

Since my wooden material got rejected this is how I liquified the metal exterior.

This is my final edited object.


 

Step 5 :

Creating the background


I download this image from Pixabay



 

Step 6 :

Composing


To distinctively emphasize & exhibit my object as " Hero ", I removed the white tower in the background as well as blurred the background.


The placement of the stadium is such that it balances and proportionates the closely arranged figures (buildings) in the background.


 

RECORDING THE PROCESS


A time-lapse of the whole process of manipulating the object.


Revealing the outcome layer by layer.


YOUTUBE VIDEO


 

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page