top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

TRANS-FORM: Week-2

Updated: Mar 27, 2021

DAY - 5: COMBINING

MATERIALS USED

  • Nylon Rope

  • Plastic Water Hose

  • PVC Electrical Conduit

  • Sunboard

  • Thermocol

  • Acrylic Sheet

  • Plastic Mesh

  • Soft Wire

  • Hard Wire

  • Thin Wire

  • Thin Sheet

  • Thick Sheet

  • Square Pipe Section

  • Circular Pipe Section

  • Steel Mesh

  • Jute Rope

  • Bamboo

  • Coir

  • Cotton Cord

  • MDF Board

  • Corrugated Sheet

  • Wax

  • Resin

  • Biscuit Wrappers

  • Chips Packets

TOOLS USED

 

WAX ON BAMBOO


I heated the wax in the hotpot and poured the wax layer by layer on the bamboo.


WAX AND ALUMINUM MESH


I gave an abstract shape to the mesh and poured wax on it.



WAX WITH THERMOCOL


Thermocol melted a little but then the wax settled over the thermocol.



WAX WITH PLASTIC FISH NET MESH


Covered the mesh half with wax and made a ring by applying wax on the edges. Wax acted as an adhesive.


WAX INTO ALUMINUM ROD


Wax can fill in the gaps easily and flexibly.



WAX WITH COIR


Coiled the coir and dipped it in the wax. The flexibility of the coir was lost as wax acted as an adhesive.


WAX IN GRANULAR THERMOCOL


Piled up the thermocol balls and poured the wax. It scattered but eventually combined.


COIR WITH JUTE ROPE


Weaved both the ropes together and opened the gap. This way I could make any form I want. I’m thinking of using these materials for my final form.



MDF BOARD AND JUTE ROPE


Using the fevibond, I made the jute rope stiff. Once there was bond on the rope then applying it again to stick it with the board was very difficult. That is why I had to use cotton.



RESIN ON COTTON


I wanted to test how cotton would react with resin. I realized that by applying thick resin I could give the cotton different orientations.



RESIN ON ALUMINUM AND POLYMER CLAY


I made a base with aluminum square pipe and aluminum sheet. Covered the whole thing with thick plastic sheets. With a plastic rod, I attached the astronaut(made of polymer clay) from Among Us. The final outcome is not yet ready. I will upload it when it's done.



RESIN WITH ALUMINUM MESH WIRES


Randomly dropped some wires from the aluminum mesh into the resin. The final outcome is not yet ready. I will upload it when it's done.



RESIN WITH JUTE ROPE


I used the sticky tape to hold the jute rope in plaCe while some of it dries with the resin. The final outcome is not yet ready. I will upload it when it's done.



RESIN IN BAMBOO


I poured some resin into the closed stick. The final outcome is not yet ready. I will upload it when it's done.


Realizations and reflections are added with the images.

 

DAY - 6: FEELING

MATERIALS USED

  • Nylon Rope

  • Plastic Water Hose

  • PVC Electrical Conduit

  • Sunboard

  • Thermocol

  • Acrylic Sheet

  • Plastic Mesh

  • Soft Wire

  • Hard Wire

  • Thin Wire

  • Thin Sheet

  • Thick Sheet

  • Square Pipe Section

  • Circular Pipe Section

  • Steel Mesh

  • Jute Rope

  • Bamboo

  • Coir

  • Cotton Cord

  • MDF Board

  • Corrugated Sheet

  • Wax

  • Resin

  • Biscuit Wrappers

  • Chips Packets

TOOLS USED

 

THE VOID/ EMPTINESS


I heated the wax in the hotpot and using a balloon made 4 cups. Attached them together with some melted wax. The empty space in the middle gives me the feeling of void.



TRUST/STRENGTH


I melted the two ends of the candle. But then I realized that if I had melted it from the middle, it could give a sense of strength as the rope would be holding the 2 pieces of wax.


CONFUSION


Entangled the jute rope and the coir to create confusion. Confusion arises when the head has too many thoughts and is stuck between them.



TRUST/BONDED


This is two people holding hands. And they are sharing the same hat which shows trust.



PRIDE/DOMINANCE


This one took a lot of patience. I made a royal thrown to show dominance and pride. This is a bamboo stick whose one end is closed and a layer is peeled off.


SHY


“The cube became shy when encountered by the other forms.” This is kind of a fail but attempted to get there.



HOPE/SOME KIND OF WAY


Elevated stairs lead the viewer to something. Which means that there is hope.


IRRITATION


Folds on any surface irritates one's mind.



ANGER


There is a video on my blog that shows how cotton can get super angry.



CONFUSION


Question marks with messy lines create confusion.



SAD


Dripping wax feels loose and unhappy.



LAZY


The thermocol balls are scattered and lying there in the wax without any movement.



TRAPPED


The onion ring is trapped inside the resin plate.



DISGUSTED


“The cup was disgusted so it puked out the chunk of resin.”



SAD


Trickling water feels like tears from the eyes. Tears generally come when we are sad.



TRUST


A knot ties an unbreakable bond that is made out of trust.



HAPPINESS


A snowman makes me happy as it reminds me of the soft snow and the snow fights with my friends and family.


PROTECTED/TRUST


The smaller piece is protected by the bigger one as it trusts the bigger stick.



HURT


The leafless tree shows no joy at all. It shows loneliness, sadness, and anger together. This shows the feeling of being hurt.



LONELINESS/VOID


The subtracted parts show the loneliness as the block of thermocol is incomplete, it has voids.



SHY

The thermocol balls are sticking to the hot stick as if they don't want to be seen.


 

DAY - 7: DOODLE


 
DAY - 8: DRAWING




 

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page