top of page
  • Writer's pictureNitika Jain

TRANS-FORM: Week - 3

Updated: Mar 27, 2021

FINAL FORM


*Vermilion Hue represents ideas that didn't work*


IDEA 1 (REJECTED)

DRAWING

This was my idea for the final form. I wanted to use cubes of different sizes (4x4in, 6x6in, 8x8in) to build an abstract user interactive structure. The final structure of 6ft.


COMPONENTS

I made three different size templates for the cubes.


I traced each template 10-12 times.

Then I used a pair of scissors and started cutting them.

But it was taking more time than I expected. Then I got it cut from a Local welder.


The Cubes I made were stitched with the mesh wire itself.


REASON FOR GETTING REJECTED

This idea was rejected by the faculty for a valid reason. We had to combine our knowledge of M2M, F2F & TRANS-FORM and make the final outcome. Pankaj said that my form is looking like the final outcome for F2F. Because it has simple cubes combined to make a bigger form. I then realized that this form will not work for this project.

I got really upset as I had more than 30 templates of cubes that were about to get wasted.


 

IDEA 2 (NOT INTERESTING)


DOODLING

After my previous idea got rejected, I went with 2 new ideas. The first one was from my doodles. I thought of making this with coir and jute rope. But this was not interesting.


 
FINAL IDEA

I followed the steps this time.




  • MATERIAL - steel mosquito mesh.








  • FEELING/WORDS - music, rhythm, fluidity, use remaining templates.





  • DOODLE/DRAWING - I tried a few component designs. The basic idea in this was to show the fluidity of the mesh.




  • EXPERIMENTATIONS - To get the mesh to change its properties, I had to do a few more explorations.





  • These steps led me to the final outcome.


 
DAY - 8: DRAWING


 

DAY - 9: COMPONENTS

EXPERIMENTING AND FAILING

Tanya ma'am and Hemanshi ma'am suggested me to weave the mesh into one another. I got very excited and separated the strands from one piece of mesh and started weaving with the other complete piece. It turned out, I wasted 2 hours and made nothing. I even used wooden clips to separate the strings from getting entangled in one another. I have decided to learn this from Hemanshi ma'am and Tanya ma'am when I get back on campus.


FINAL COMPONENTS


I used the cube templates and twisted and folded them to give the shape of the wavelength-like structure. I connected each piece by stitching with the mesh strings.



DERIVATION FROM ALL THE PROJECTS:


M2M - Technique: stitching

F2F - Dimension: 3D form

TRANS-FORM - Changing properties of a material: straight, solid to fluid, cloth-like.


 

DAY - 10: ASSEMBLY


I tried to assemble the components on illustrator first. After selecting the arrangement that matches my feeling, I tried it with some paper.


I crushed the paper and made it uneven because my original components are not perfect circles/ovals. They are irregular. I was satisfied with my work so I started with the final form.


THE MAKING

I stitched the components to get the final arrangement. But there came a new problem. It was heavy and thus couldn't keep its form stable. So in the end I added 2 wires to hold the components together.


 

DAY - 11: FINISHING


ADDING MESH WIRE


To give my form the rhythm and music, I had to hang it in a certain manner. I used Mesh wire to hold the 5 rings in position. These wires majorly contribute to the feel of the form.


 

DAY - 11: EXHIBIT

I couldn’t find a spotlight on campus to put on it. So I used MDF Board to capture the shots.


This is an on-campus picture of the form. There was no spotlight available at that moment so I couldn’t get good pictures of it. I tried with flash from one side also but it wasn’t looking good.


I will get better pictures after my submission for my blog.

 

LASER CUTTING


This was the template I mailed. But there were errors in the measurements. Monu sir made the required changes on his laptop and explained to me how this will come out. But when I got the cutout, he gave me alternate cut pieces of the circles and I wanted all of them.


So my initial idea failed. Then I decided to make something out of what I had in hand and the results are amazing.

SLIDE

 

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page